Superhero MEME

Sassybear (the dear!) celebrated National Superhero Day by posting a Sunday Five-style meme. My responses were getting too long for a comment, and ain’t nobody who wants to read my ignorant thoughts about superheroes anyways, so I’m posting the responses here.

Super Power

1. If you could have any super power (only one and you can’t say omnipotence) what would it be? Ideas: super strength, super speed, fly, turn invisible, phasing (walk through solid objects), elasticity (super stretching), teleportation, telepathy, time travel, etc. Be creative and feel free to come up with a superpower you’d really like having.

My usual answer here is a cheat: selective omniscience, in the sense that I could quickly and easily know the correct answer to any question I pose. There are lots of questions I would not want to pose (do I really want to know the state of Marjorie Taylor Greene’s love life? No, no I don’t) but there are many things I would like to understand.

Of course, this power is trivially Omega level: all I would have to do is ask “How can I become omnipotent?” and then I am cheating according to Sassybear’s definition. On the other hand, we are collectively moving towards this superpower. Wikipedia exists, and part of the reason we are all so wowed by ChatGPT is that it seems to have coherent answers to everything. Those answers are not always correct, but the technology will improve.

The most interesting superpowers are tradeoffs, which is why Superman is kind of boring. This can be taken to an extreme (hello Hourman) but lots of powers have interesting Shadow side effects. (I suppose selective omniscience would be one of them, in case one ever idly speculated about the nature of Marjorie Taylor Greene’s love life.)

Perhaps a fairer superpower would be an empathy ray. Anybody hit by the ray would immediately feel the emotions of those with whom they interacted. Thus if somebody is being difficult to Sassybear at work, I could zap that person with an empathy ray and they would feel the pain they were inflicting. The Shadow side of this power is obvious: just like guns we buy to protect ourselves at home, somebody could turn the empathy ray on me and then I would be miserable all the time.

2 Why this power? How would you use it?

Selective omniscience has obvious benefits. I really like Robzilla’s power of luck, but knowing the answer to any question means one could play games of chance lucratively. But one would also be able to answer more important questions and find solutions to things that currently feel hopeless.

I would like to think that an empathy ray would make us better people, but who knows?

Culture

3. Who is your favorite fictional superhero? If you don’t have one, who is one you are most familiar with?

I don’t know that I have a favorite. I once read a printed encyclopedia of superheroes, which I think was published shortly after Crisis on Infinite Earths. In that book I was drawn to Havok (Alex Summers) the brother of X-men leader Cyclops. Playing second fiddle seemed interesting, being able to focus one’s energies seemed interesting (do I have undiagnosed ADHD? Maaaaaaybe), and his powers seemed cooler than being able to shoot laserbeams out of one’s eyes. Having said that I am not sure I have ever read a comic where Havok makes an appearance.

I don’t honestly read many comics, although I am drawn to the postmodern deconstructions of the genre (you all know about Strong Female Protagonist, right?). In that vein I am drawn to superheroes whose powers are kind of ridiculous.

Acknowledging that I am going to sound ignorant in writing this (given that I am sure there is lots of canon behind this), the Riddler strikes me as being particularly weird. Sure: most of the Batman villains are manifestations of psychological issues, but even here the Riddler stands out. This guy has enormous resources (where does he get all these wonderful toys?) and could make a decent living putting together puzzles for the New York Times or designing video games or doing scientific research, and instead he puts together elaborate crimes deliberately hoping to get caught? I guess that is not so different from serial killers who leave signatures of their crimes out of hubris, but a compulsion to leave clues when committing crimes seems like a real liability. The Joker as an agent of chaos makes sense. The Penguin makes less sense, but at least he is a criminal mastermind who owns a nightclub (and has the ability to control birds? Maybe that was just the Tim Burton movie). The Riddler does not have good motivations for what he does other than creating interesting plots for Batman comics, and that is interesting to me.

4. Have you ever read or owned a comic book? Besides me, do you know anyone who reads or collects comic books?

I have read comic books, but at the risk of excommunication I admit that many superhero comics irritate me. The X-men universe is especially frustrating: it is a convoluted soap opera for boys who turn their noses up at actual soap operas. Try reading the Wikipedia page of any mainstream Marvel hero and you will fall down a deep and depressing rabbit hole.

I have owned comic books, although I have never owned too many, and I have never collected them. Mostly I have read comic books from the library.

I have collected other forms of comics, though. When I was a child my family subscribed to the local newspaper. Many of you will be too young to remember newspapers. They were like news websites printed on cheap paper and published several times a week. Their best feature were the printed comics, which is not saying much because even as I child I could see that most syndicated newspaper comics were terrible. Nonetheless they published syndicated comics IN COLOR on weekends, and I collected those. I bound them together into a big fat book for years and years. It is one of those things I wish I still had from my childhood, but I am pretty sure my parents threw it away when I ran away from home. There were a few gems in that collection, including a comic called Simple Beasts which was pretty funny but which nobody remembers now.

On the Internet I know several people who read comics, although I am not sure I know anybody who collects comics as extensively as Sassybear does. In person I probably know people who collect comics, but I am not aware they they do so. (Despite common stereotypes you cannot distinguish comic collectors just by looking, you know. Comic collectors are everywhere. They could be your neighbours, your siblings, your children, or your coworkers. You might not agree with their lifestyles but as long as they are not harming others we should not persecute them, and we should be mindful of the comic collector jokes we spread around. We never know when a comic collector might be listening and deeply hurt by our crass comments.)

5. Have you ever been inside or even seen a comic book store?

Oh, I see comic book stores regularly, although many of the ones I walk past have focused more on collectible card games and dolls (oops. Collectible figurines.) than actual comics these days. I like looking in the windows, although I don’t enter them that frequently.

I have browsed through comics at the comic book stores, but I am wary of doing so because I have no financial control, and comic books are an expensive and space-consuming addiction.

Actions

6. Can you recall a moment when you witnessed true heroism? (Hey, maybe it was you!)

I assure you it was never me.

There have been moments when people have stood up to the challenge of their situations. Once I was at a work picnic and somebody was choking on a hotdog. Somebody else administered the Heimlich Maneuver and cleared the victim’s air passages. That was pretty heroic in a conventional sense.

Overall I think there are a lot of people who struggle with a lot of unfair circumstances, and do so with grace. For example, there are parents who are raising difficult children, or people trapped in jobs they dislike but have to keep for other reasons. There are also people who do difficult things with care and compassion I do not possess. In a former job I had coworkers who did street outreach, and many of them were saints.

7. Last but not least: Have you ever done any of these….

…the Wonder Woman Spin?

I have spun, but have never become fabulous by doing so.

…the Bionic sound when running or lifting something?

I have made strange sounds when trying to move, but they weren’t the sounds from the Six Million Dollar Man or The Bionic Woman, neither of which I actually watched.

…bumped fists with someone and said “Wonder Twin Powers, Activate.”?

It’s a bold claim to suggest that anybody would want to touch me, even for a fist bump.

…shouted “SHAZAM!”?

I am pretty sure I have not attempted this marvellous feat. When I am invoking superhero transformations it is most often hulking out in rage (which happens far too often for my own good). For all my lofty talk of empathy most of the time I just want to be powerful and smash things.

19 thoughts on “Superhero MEME

  1. A witty and delightful blog post — I laughed all the way through it! Your Empathy Ray superpower idea is brilliant. I now want that instead of Wolverine’s claws. And thanks for the link to the Strong Female Protagonist web comic! I will read it from start to finish now.

    Like

    1. Empathy rays probably do not make as satisfying a *snikt* as claws.

      Strong Female Protagonist will probably suit your political sensibilities well. You might identify with Feral Girl.

      Like

  2. You absolutely win the response of the Year, Lurky! This post was brilliant, entertaining, surprising, and well written. You totally threw me picking the Riddler, but I LOVE that you chose such an unexpected character for this question. And your power choice is fantastic. I don’t know if you could really cheat by asking about how to become omniscient, because (a) who’s to say there’s a way to do so; and (b) who’s to say, even if there’s a way, you could actually accomplish it? So ask away. And I LOVE the idea of imbuing others with empathy, as opposed to straight-up mind control. Perhaps you can can only be selectively-omniscient about things and people for whom you already have empathy? That could be your Achilles heal. If you were faced with an enemy or opponent you severally disliked or hated, and could not feel empathy for due to their cruelty or attitudes, your power would not manifest itself so you could learn their weakness. You’d just have to rely on a good old fashioned right hook!

    Thanks for posting this. I love it.

    Like

    1. In a universe where omnipotence is not possible, selective omniscience can get you as close as possible. “How close can I get to omnipotence?” “What is required to do so?” “What are the easiest and quickest ways for me to achieve those requirements?”

      The empathy constraint is pretty strong. For me it would render the superpower useless, since I am a cold-hearted b*tch who doesn’t feel empathy for anyone or anything. But even for a normal person it would create some interesting conundrums. Say you were solving a math problem. For what would you feel empathy? The mathematics? The problem? The underlying situation that invoked the math problem? If something does not have feelings can one be empathetic towards it?

      Somebody who had selective omniscience with an empathy constraint would probably spend a lot of time on Buddhist retreats or taking up Jainist practices in an attempt to develop compassion for all sentient beings.

      Like

  3. I can’t help thinking with the constraints of comic books- no matter how powerful you are, there’s always a foil (e.g Superman is all powerful but kryptonite countermands that.) But that was not a constraint in my original question, so I’ll allow it.

    However, I still think my foil is a good one in the comic book realm. You’d either only be able to use your great power in very limited ways, or have to evolve your attitude to be able to have empathy for everyone, thereby increasing your power exponentially, but with more of a compassionate perspective to guide such ability.

    There was actually a character that figure out a way to manufacture a certain level of omniscience. in the Marvel universe, there is a mutant named Jamie Madrox, aka Multiple Man, that can create unlimited numbers of duplicates of himself. he got tired of focusing his training solely on how to fight, physically, and decided to send out hundreds of duplicates of them self to go out into the world pick an area of knowledge or skill and focus on becoming the best in that area. Then when he reabsorbed them, he gained their collective knowledge and skill. I thought it was an incredibly creative use of his talent and really upped his game as a crime fighter and superhero.

    Like

    1. Kryptonite is a dumb weakness. “I am super powerful, but I have a peanut allergy, so every plot involves villains obtaining supposedly-rare peanuts to shove in my mouth!”

      Superman’s most interesting weakness is that he is a pathologically nice guy. There are a bunch of “mad with power” thinly-veiled Superman stories that explore this. Dr Manhattan from Watchmen is the obvious example, but there are lots of others (I remember a comic called Kinetic by Kelley Puckett and Warren Pierce being interesting.)

      On the other hand, this is exactly what made Spider-Man famous, so maybe it is not so interesting after all.

      I like the Multiple Man solution. That’s the sort of thing that made superhero comics fun: having the heroes use their powers in unexpected ways to solve problems.

      Like

  4. I can’t argue that kryptonite was a stupid idea. I think they really try to move away from overusing that, and sticking to the fact that his unconscious causes him to hold himself back for fear of hurting others so he’s self limiting. Or they just create someone or some thing stronger than he is.

    I do much prefer characters that are limited in scope and power, but get creative with the use of their power. Of course, this can get abused to the point where magneto can control people because they have iron in their blood, or they just give people nondescript power blasts that apparently can do anything with no explanation or definition for exactly what it is there blasts consist of. One of the reasons that I like the legion of superheroes is that everyone has a single power, and they write stories, where sometimes that power is useless. but comic books require a lot of suspension of disbelief. You’re not supposed to notice that things are inconsistent or that peoples power level differs from story to story.

    truth be told, I’m drawn far more to the imagery than the storytelling in most cases, so I find myself preferring books with artists I really love and enjoy, as opposed to terrible art, but the story is written by an excellent writer. However, there are some writers that blow me away with their concepts and ideas. I think, crisis on infinite earths was one of the pinnacles of artwork and story writing in my lifetime. The man needs to have a cast of hundreds if not, thousands of characters and yet made each of their voices and experience is unique in this universe, wide crisis. It was the first time I cried at the depths of an imaginary character And genuinely could not wait until the next issue came out. To this day, I have probably read the story more than any other one in my collection.

    I don’t know if I really believe you’re a cynical, as you say, you are, but I have no choice to take you at face value, because the only way I know you was through your comments and blog. so assuming this persona is true, then I am probably far more optimistic and upbeat and excepting of things when they don’t meet proper scrutiny. I think this is what allows me to enjoy comic books so much. I already have to except that people have abilities they can’t possibly have, and wear outfits that are so skin tight they might as well be naked, and apparently never have to go to the bathroom or work a job. So once I’m past all that anything else is acceptable. I spend less time focusing on whether a story or concept is believable, and more time enjoying great plot, and story ideas that do new and different things, which is hard to do given how long comic books have been around and written .

    i’ve never been really good at expressing why I like the things I do or don’t like the things I don’t when it comes to comic books, television, or any other media. So many people seem to be great about critiquing things in a way I’ve never been able to. most of my critiques have been about the way things make me feel which always come across as simple and childish. But I am very emotion driven and things that spark my emotion are the things that get my attention. The thrill I get seeing an image of a superhero, especially if it’s what I really like, is what has led to my almost compulsive collecting habits and my lifelong love of comic books, cartoons, and characters. you continue to surprise me with your level of knowledge about comics beyond what the average person cleans from a TV show or movie. I love when you may comic book references or get the ones I do.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I tend to be bad at suspension of disbelief. I am especially bad at this when a universe does not respect its own rules for the sake of plotting.

      I wish I appreciated art more than I do. I feel guilty because I treat comic pages as a given and flip through them in milliseconds instead of appreciating all the hard work that went into drawing/inking/coloring them.

      I think it is fine to like what you like. People like entertainment for different reasons, and that is okay. I am charmed by how enthusiastic you get about your hobbies.

      Like

    1. I look forward to your responses.

      (Did you notice that I put the word “meme” in all caps, as a tribute to my third-favorite Internet psychiatrist?)

      Like

  5. LOVE!!
    Of course this would need its own post. And you did not disappoint. Selective omniscience, huh? I call bullshit because that would literally cancel itself. But being a superhero you suspend disbelief, no? (even though you say you don’t do it, you’re literally doing it here).
    I also kind of visualize you with a cape (I like capes).
    I think that your reticence in what concerns comics and their branching out (I cackled at your over-correcting yourself at ‘figurines’ LOL) probably has to do more with their superfluous nature, given that you did bring newspapers to the mix.
    And who doesn’t know newspapers? Even the most Gen Z of the Gen Zs I know actually has opened a newspaper. If you would have said papyrus, now…

    I enjoyed your answers. Equally entertaining and puzzling. But that’s you, right?
    And I hope you reconsider clicking on those links. Maddie did… LMAOOO

    XOXO

    Like

    1. I don’t think selective omniscience would cancel itself. Truly omniscient beings know every single thing. Selective omniscient beings know the things they put their minds to.

      Sorry to hear that you corrupted Maddie.

      Like

      1. So you’d be some sort of Professor Xavier, only without the helmet. Very convenient.
        And I’d like to see your browser history. I’m sure I’d find something less wholesome than Deadpool fucking a dude in a bathroom or spitroasting a twink with Spiderman.
        And don’t worry about Maddie. I knew those links would go to good use.

        XOXO

        Like

    1. Mr Shife! You are a dear. I like your blog a lot and have been reading for a while, but I had not added it to my commenting rotation.

      Like

  6. I had (and still have) a Six Million Dollar Man Doll. I had (and still have) a soft spot for Lee Majors. I blame my parents.
    JP

    Like

    1. You still have your Six Million Dollar Man doll? With inflation I can only imagine how much he is worth now.

      How are your parents doing? Are they still doing their romance?

      Like

Comments are closed.