Detransition, Baby

Did you know that trans people can write books? I guess I should not have found it that surprising. Lots of people can write books, and I never explicitly thought trans people couldn’t write books, but now that I am straight I just assume all cultural works are created by straight people like me. Looks like I am wrong! (Oh my. Does this mean gay people can also write books? Mind blown.)

In any case, among my pickups at the library Pride display was a novel called Detransition, Baby by Torrey Peters. This book is about detransitioning and about babies, although not necessarily in that order. I am not sure I want to reveal much more of the plot than that, because unlike Rick I really liked this book and hope that some of you read it. (“Liked” might be a strong word. The book was compelling if not likeable, in any case.)

Did you know that trans people have a culture, and that is pretty different from straight culture? Furthermore, it seems pretty different from mainstream gay culture, too. Who knew? This book is probably written for outsiders to that culture, but it reads as if it is written for insiders. The effect is that we feel as if we are peeking into a new world we didn’t know exist, and where we will somehow not ruin everything by observing. Although I am 100% confident that this book is not the definitive guide to trans experiences, it reads like a book that is a definitive guide to a particular trans experience. There are a lot of passages about the rituals and conventions about this culture, as well as the mandatory observations about how cis people are clueless around their trans brethren. The book is full of clever observations, many of which made me feel bad for enjoying.

The book feels genuine. The characters here are not heroic propaganda pieces in the Culture Wars. They are kind of messed up, and they all do unlikable things even though we want to like them. They think and say politically-incorrect things, and even worse have the audacity to criticize their own tribes. I don’t think Torrey hates white trans woman culture, but she sure can be judgmental of it.

On the other hand, the straight male characters feel more like cardboard cutouts, and often they end up being villainous, but I suppose nobody else is going to fill that niche.

The book is structured pretty well. The plot is tight and solid. In several cases scenes that you thought were present for character development are actually Chekov’s Gun, which adds a lot to the story. I did not re-read the book but even in taking excerpts I could see all of the herrings Torrey plants that point towards future revelations. As Sassybear knows I have problems suspending disbelief, but even though many of the situations in this book are wild (Truvada as a trans birth-control regimen, anyone?) they did not knock me out of the story.

If you choose to read this book you should be forewarned that Torrey is merciless. She writes things that might well make you feel uncomfortable. Although the actions of her characters are consistent to their natures, some of those actions are not pretty.

On that note, I will close with an excerpt that illustrates the politically-incorrect observations Torrey makes. I enjoyed this passage, which is more evidence that can be used against me in case I ever appeal my conviction. (I had originally planned to post a long excerpt about juvenile elephants, but in addition to upsetting Maddie it contained some false statements, so I swapped it for this one.)

If you are a trans girl who knows many other trans girls, you go to church a lot, because church is where they hold the funerals. What no one wants to admit about funerals, because you’re supposed to be crushed by the melancholy of being a trans girl among the prematurely dead trans girls, is that funerals for dead trans girls number among the notable social events of a season.

Who knows what people will say at a trans funeral? Will some queer make a political speech instead of a eulogy, so that for weeks afterward other queers will post outraged screeds about it on social media? How many times will a family member deadname or misgender the deceased from the pulpit, unabashed about it in his grief, peering out at the sea of weirdos who showed up unexpectedly to what he considered a family event? Did their son — er, daughter — really have all these friends? Which nice white cis person will remind the assembled mourners — a high percentage of whom are trans women themselves — that everyone must do to save trans women of color, who are being murdered (murdered!), although this particular highly attended funeral is, of course, a suicide, because that’s how the white girls die prematurely.

-p. 209

17 thoughts on “Detransition, Baby

  1. Oh yes. Torrey.
    A shock-jock in the making. Just look at that title. But as you say, the Trans experience is not monolithic. Neither is the Gay experience or the Straight experience (you should know) and this book touches on that.

    I think we need more Trans authors writing books in which there’s not an arch (discovery-transition-bliss) or a cautionary tale (the dating apps are a minefield). This works as an insider’s insight (Torrey is using well that MFA) and even though I see it more as a comedy of errors than a character study, it works.

    Maybe TERFS should read more this kind of books, where the Trans character(s) are shown warts and all and that would contribute to de-fetishize them and to de-alienate them . Maybe that way Rowling would realize she’s been wrong all along…

    And here’s your gold star, Lurkie. Good straight.

    XOXO

    Like

    1. As far as I can tell all straight experiences are more-or-less identical.

      I presume you read the book? I don’t remember you blogging about it, but no doubt you did.

      Like

      1. Absolutely not.
        Not all straight experiences are not more or less identical. Otherwise, we would not have Meninists and Incels or Andrew Tate. It shows you’re a new straight.
        And Torrey’s book’s been out for a few years. She’s not brilliant, but the premise of the book is interesting. She goes for shock, which I think diminishes the impact of the book.

        XOXO

        Like

  2. This sounds like a genuinely interesting book. I read its plot description on Amazon to get a better idea of what it’s about. I’ll add it to my huge “to read someday” list, thanks!

    Like

    1. I am sure you’ll zoom through that list in no time.

      Maybe I should have revealed more of the plot? It’s tough to do so without giving too much away. In general I like reading novels without knowing too much about their plots beforehand.

      Like

      1. It’s dire, Old Lurker, very dire indeed. My main reading for pleasure diet is still comic books and fanfiction. But I did read one actual, honest-to-gawd published novel in the Spring — about the Winter Soldier. What can I say?

        Like

  3. One point that you brought up about that book is the D transformation. That confuses me even more. If somebody had already transitioning, say a man to a woman, and then changes her mind and wants to become a man again, that has got to be confusing not to mention expensive as hell. Which is probably why the therapy sessions are so important. Something like this is a major life decision just to be flipping or changing your mind like the wind. Drag Queen Eureka O’Hara has also decided to detransition the last I knew.

    Like

    1. Ohhh I know.
      That’s why I thought the title was a little bit too much. Few people actually de-transition. In the case of this book is not because they decided they were not Trans. It’s because they could not put up with the demands society puts on Trans people. But they still may feel gender dysphoria, mind you.

      It’s not easy to Transition. Society will Dylan Mulvaney you to an inch of your life.

      XOXO

      Like

    2. I feel that transitioning/detransitioning can be expensive, but there is a spectrum of options out there. It is interesting how we don’t expect people to go through a lot of counselling before coming out as gay, or adopting the gay lifestyle.

      Like

  4. There are always framed photos at the base of my towns Transgendered flag pole. Very sad, as I stop to look to see if I knew any of the ladies.
    Wasn’t there a male trans who reverse transitioned to have a baby? I think I’ve seen it on Youtube. I can’t remember if they transitioned back to male or not.

    Like

    1. I am pretty sure there are trans men who get pregnant and have babies. I would not be surprised if they temporarily go off hormones during that time, but I do not know the protocol. I do know that it has become politically incorrect to use the term “pregnant women”; now we say “people who are pregnant” lest we be cancelled.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh Lurkie, it is such a pleasure to watch you try out you new straight water wings. There is so much that you never learned when you were Gay and now you blunder you way though becoming a straight man. All with the guidance of one book that has a single perspective. Go forth, you straight man, and learn from the many. None are alike, that is the mystery and magic of it all.

    Like

    1. What book? This book is about trans people. Are there books on how to be straight? If so I never got one.

      Like

      1. Sadly, no, like your parents never got a manual of how to be a parent, there is no How To Be Straight manual either. You just have to wing in like Queer people have to wing it, and hope you don’t get too damaged along the way. Good luck my friend

        Like

Comments are closed.