International Tell Your Crush Day

So May 7 is supposedly International Tell Your Crush Day. Is it just me, or does this seem like a well-intentioned bad idea? No good can come of it. Either I get rejected gently (“That’s very flattering, but I don’t think of you in that way”) or the rejections are more forceful (running away screaming, restraining orders, etc). Telling one’s crushes about feelings seems like an excellent way to end friendships and cause a lot of awkwardness.

The claim is that if I do not inform my crushes of that status then they will not know. Hogwash. Either they can use their psychic powers to sense that I am crushing on them, or it is probably for the best that they not know. It is shameful enough to have crushes. Acting on them would be debaucherous. Suppressing one’s feelings never did anybody any harm, other than crushing depression and/or dying lonely and alone.

By my count I have informed crushes of my feelings 1.5 times in my life. One of those times resulted in my first and only consummated relationship, which ended up causing a lot of hurt to the other party. The other half admission made things awkward (but in my defence it was a forced admission). This is not a good track record. But hey! If you have social connections to burn go right ahead and be honest about your feelings. What’s the worst that could go wrong?

9 thoughts on “International Tell Your Crush Day

  1. Oh, I wouldn’t even want to consider the worst that could go wrong. I guess I should be grateful I’m married. It would be really inappropriate to have a crush… or at least to admit it.

    Like

    1. According to the site FAQ even married people are allowed to have crushes. MAYBE having a crush on your spouse is borderline acceptable, but even then I would tread carefully.

      Like

  2. Never heard of the day, but agree, I wouldn’t get behind it. Last time a crush told me how they felt, two days later found us in bed. After three or four good rounds, and being named Hell Cat, he later told me it was just a physical attraction and I never saw him again.

    Like

    1. See? If he had never disclosed you might have been friends to this day, dealing with the unresolved sexual tension every time you saw each other.

      Like

      1. Probably just as well……. I’m a not good with unresolved sexual tension. Although when he told me of the “crush” it caught me off guard. I blame the wine that night of the deed and him. He know wjat buttons to push…….

        Like

  3. Some things are best left said – and crushes are definitely one of them. Why if I had told every football player in high school that I had a crush on I would have ended up in bed – with one or two of them so I found out later.

    Like

    1. Football players?! Given their super-heterosexual personae, I would have worried about being crushed had word gotten out about my impure thoughts. But hopefully you grew up in more tolerant times.

      Like

Comments are closed.